A canna’ change the laws of physics

Scotty, The Naked Time, stardate 1704.3, Episode 7

I’ve got an entry in The Open Laboratory: The Best Science Writing on Blogs 2008

Posted by apgaylard on January 4, 2009

Just a short bit of boasting.  I’ve had an entry selected for, “The Open Laboratory: The Best Science Writing on Blogs 2008”.  I immodestly submitted a three pieces (this, this and this) for consideration.  One has scraped in (note that it appears last on the list!):

Expect The Unexpected

It’s an exploration of the role of anomalies in science seen through the lens of Thomas Kuhn‘s much-misrepresented philosophy.   In retrospect I really wish that I’d called it “resistance is useful“!  It will need some tidying up (and sharpening up) before it goes into print; but still I’m happy to have been chosen.

My thanks go to all the authors of the entertaining ‘Memory of Water’ issue of Homeopathy, and every CAM advocate who has ever quoted Kuhn at me.  Thank you for prompting me to check things out for myself.

At the risk of sounding like Gwyneth Paltrow accepting an Oscar I’d really like to thank Ben Goldacre for getting me interested in the whole memory of water thing and the few kind readers of this blog who have helped me keep my motivation up.

7 Responses to “I’ve got an entry in The Open Laboratory: The Best Science Writing on Blogs 2008”

  1. draust said

    Congrats Adrian. Good to see the excellent exposition on Kuhn getting some recognition.

  2. apgaylard said

    Draust: Thanks, I appreciate your support and encouragement.

  3. dvnutrix said

    Many, many congratulations. Well deserved! What with this and being a fellow contributor alongside Blackmore and Singh, you are having a remarkable impact.

    Again – well done.

  4. wilsontown said

    Excellent stuff: glad that your piece on Kuhn is getting the recognition it deserves. It would be nice to imagine that various alt-reality types will at least think a bit more carefully before bandying Kuhn’s name about…sterling work.

  5. podblack said

    Well done! A great entry and on a most excellent topic.🙂

  6. apgaylard said

    Thanks for all the kind comments. I know that all of you have written better pieces over the last year. I hope that my success might encourage some more applications later this year.

  7. pleick said

    Congratulations. Along with your other posts on Kuhn and the philosophy of science, this was excellent stuff. Well worth re-reading… and a good reference to have around, since it won’t take long before the Kuhnian Gambit is played again by some alt-reality fanboy.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
