A canna’ change the laws of physics

Scotty, The Naked Time, stardate 1704.3, Episode 7

Martineau chiropractic to check with the BCA

Posted by apgaylard on June 5, 2009

bigstockphoto_Xray_Spine_488820As part of my brief survey of the claims Chiropractors make for the treatment of bedwetting (nocturnal enuresis) in children I contacted Martineau Chiropractic (Cached URL).  They claim that “research has shown chiropractic to be an effective treatment” for “bed wetting”.  Of course, it has shown no such thing

I have had a brief and interesting reply*

“Thankyou for looking at our website, I hope you enjoyed it. I shall be taking advice from my professional association regarding the content of the website […]” 

I do hope that Chiropractors are discussing the issue of what they claim to treat and how they handle evidence.  It would be nice to think that the BCA would offer some sensible guidance on these matters**.  However, they seem incapable*** of handling evidence objectively. 

Anyway, I’ll keep an eye on the website and see what changes. 

Notes

* Only quoted in part.  The reply also contains a claim about the position of the charity ERIC with regards to chiropractic that I’m checking before commenting on.  The reply also indicates that they will consider putting a link into the ERIC website, but not the NHS Choices site though.

**Perhaps it’s part of this process?

***An honest incapacity, I am sure, but as jdc’s work shows (here, here, here and finally here), an incapacity nonetheless.  I would also recommend jdc’s helpful article “Recommended Reading For Chiropractors” to any Chiropractors who may be reading this.

Edits

None Yet!

[BPSDB]

One Response to “Martineau chiropractic to check with the BCA”

  1. […] 5th June: blogger apgaylard has now also referred to the inability of chiropractors to handle evidence objectively and notes […]

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.